Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Red Deer Advocate - Breaking News
  • letter
  • print
  • follow

Rebels' Darcy Kuemper named WHL Player of the Year

CALGARY — The Western Hockey League announced today at the annual WHL Awards Luncheon that Red Deer Rebels goaltender Darcy Kuemper has been named the 2010-11 WHL Player of the Year and recipient of the Four Broncos Memorial trophy.

Kuemper enjoyed an outstanding season for the Red Deer Rebels, backstopping them to their first Central Division title since the 2003-04 season. The 20-year-old from Saskatoon, SK, appeared in 62 games for the Rebels during the 2010-11 WHL regular season, posting a 45-12-3-2 record as the Rebels finished with 104 points in the standings.

Kuemper led all WHL goaltenders in wins (45), goals-against average (1.86) and save percentage (.933) during the regular season, helping the Rebels to the WHL’s best defensive record.

In addition, Kuemper tied a WHL single-season record by posting 13 shutouts. During the regular season, Kuemper maintained a high level of consistency, losing back-to-back decisions on only two occasions.

He was named the Vaughn CHL Goaltender of the Week on three different occasions during the regular season – the only goalie in the CHL to win the award three times this year – and was named the Vaughn WHL Goaltender of the Month for January.

Originally selected by the Spokane Chiefs in the third round, 45th overall, of the 2005 WHL Bantam Draft, Kuemper was acquired by the Rebels in 2007 and has played 178 regular-season games for Red Deer over the last three seasons.

Kuemper was drafted by the Minnesota Wild in the sixth round, 161st overall, in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft.

Complete list of 2011 award winners:

WHL Player of the Year, Four Broncos Memorial Trophy: Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels


Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy: Matt Dumba (Calgary, AB), Red Deer Rebels


Sven Bartschi (Langenthal, SUI), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy: Darcy Kuemper (Saskatoon, SK), Red Deer Rebels


James Reid (Calgary, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy: Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades


Tyson Barrie (Victoria, BC), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player, Brad Hornung Trophy: Tyler Johnson (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs


Stefan Elliott (North Vancouver, BC), Saskatoon Blades

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy: Colin Smith (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers


Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy:

Don Nachbaur, Spokane Chiefs


Jesse Wallin, Red Deer Rebels

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy: Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades


Mike Johnston, Portland Winterhawks

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy: Spencer Edwards (Coquitlam, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors


Jeff Einhorn (Red Deer, AB), Chilliwack Bruins

WHL Marketing / Communications Award: Calgary Hitmen, Mike Moore


Tri-City Americans, Brian Sandy

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy: Saskatoon Blades

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy

Linden Vey: (46 goals, 70 assists)

  • letter
  • print
  • follow


COMMENTING ETIQUETTE: To encourage open exchange of ideas in the Red Deer Advocate community, we ask that you follow our guidelines and respect standards. Personal attacks, offensive language and unsubstantiated allegations are not allowed. More on etiquette...



follow us on twitter

Featured partners