Leacock Medal for Humour short list announced

ORILLIA, Ont. — Gary Barwin is up for yet another literary honour after making the short list for the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour.

The Hamilton-based author was recognized for “Yiddish for Pirates” (Random House Canada), which was a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction and the Scotiabank Giller Prize last year.

Halifax-born, Thunder Bay, Ont.-based Amy Jones made the short list for her debut novel “We’re All in This Together” (McClelland & Stewart).

Ojibway playwright, author and humorist Drew Hayden Taylor from the Curve Lake First Nations in central Ontario was honoured for “Take Us to Your Chief And Other Stories” (Douglas & McIntyre).

The Leacock Medal is awarded annually for the best book in Canadian literary humour, and is accompanied by a $15,000 prize from TD Bank Financial Group. The runners-up will each receive a cash prize of $1,500.

The winner will be announced on June 10 at a gala held at Geneva Park Conference Centre just outside of Orillia, Ont.

Just Posted

Doctor first in Red Deer to offer Mohs surgical suite for skin cancer

A local doctor says a skin cancer surgery newly offered locally will… Continue reading

Methamphetamine, THC found in half-million dollar seizure and Bowden Institution

Nearly half a million dollars worth of drugs and other contraband was… Continue reading

Community support needed to bring Canadian Finals Rodeo to Red Deer

Bid from Westerner Park and Red Deer & District Chamber of Commerce

Long-tenured former Blackfalds mayor recognized by Alberta Urban Municipalities Association

After 19 years serving on Blackfalds council, Melodie Stol was thrilled her… Continue reading

Preserving Innisfail pioneer home means Isabella Sinclair’s story will live on

House from 1890 will be moved next month to historical village

VIDEO: Red Deerians taste what the city has to offer

Red Deerians sampled some of the finest foods Central Alberta restaurants have… Continue reading

New columnist joining Advocate team

Market Gypsy starts on November 30

Volunteer with victim services in Red Deer

Learn more at info session on Nov. 27

Updated: Missing Sylvan Lake women found

Women were reported missing earlier this week

Liberals propose billions for affordable housing, including individual benefits

A Liberal government fond of promising help for those working hard to… Continue reading

Alberta Party sees growth in Central Alberta

Greg Clark addressed health care needs addressed in Red Deer

Ponoka council freezes Ponoka Fire Department spending

All discretionary spending frozen until full budget numbers are presented

WATCH: Ponoka’s Festival of Trees sees continued support

Three days of celebration and fundraising held at the Calnash Ag Event Centre

Most Read

Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $185 for 260 issues (must live in delivery area to qualify) Unlimited Digital Access 99 cents for the first four weeks and then only $15 per month Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $15 a month