Guest violin soloist Robert Uchida

RDSO presents Beethoven like you’ve never heard him before

The myth of “brooding Beethoven” is about to be overturned by the Red Deer Symphony Orchestra.

The myth of “brooding Beethoven” is about to be overturned by the Red Deer Symphony Orchestra.

Musical director Claude Lapalme promises to paint a brighter, more optimistic picture of Germany’s genius composer at the RDSO’s Classical Mood concert on Saturday, Jan. 14, at the Red Deer College Arts Centre.

Audiences will hear Ludwig Van Beethoven’s monumental Violin Concerto in D Major performed by nearly 50 RDSO musician and guest violin soloist Robert Uchida of Edmonton.

The mid-career work was written while Beethoven was growing profoundly deaf. Yet it’s imbued with a buoyancy that could only come from a composer who enjoys exploring a gamut of nuanced emotions.

“He likes working in the grey areas and painting in the corners,” added Lapalme.

Although Beethoven lives on as a turbulent presence in the public imagination, Lapalme believes his music isn’t nearly full of “sturm und drang” as many people believe. “This concerto should dispel the myth.”

The 40-plus minute piece begins with drama and ends with a upbeat, “folksie” rondo. In between, listeners will hear a “gorgeous” second movement, which is slower and more reflective.

But introspection can sound just as positive as more romantic and energetic passages, said Lapalme.

Uchida, concertmaster for the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and previous artistic director of the Acadia Summer Strings Festival in Nova Scotia, will have “a massive mountain to climb” in performing the piece. But Lapalme knows he’s up to the task.

“Robert knows how to set a lot of different moods, and has a very expressive range … He’s a wonderful soloist (who produces) singing tones” with his instrument.

In keeping with the evening’s classical theme, the RDSO will also tackle the operatic and angsty Overture to Don Giovanni by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, as well as the light and graceful Symphony Opus 9 by “London” Bach. The youngest son of Johann Sebastian Bach, who spent much of his career in England, is more formally known as Johann Christian Bach.

Limited tickets to the concert are available from the Black Knight Ticket Centre.

Just Posted

Mothers Against Drunk Driving hold candlelight vigil

Four-and-a-half years ago Marilyn Rinas’ husband was killed in a collision with… Continue reading

Thousands expected at memorial for fallen police officer in Abbotsford, B.C.

ABBOTSFORD, B.C. — The streets of Abbotsford, B.C., will be lined with… Continue reading

One person dead, five others injured in early-morning crash in Kingston, Ont.

KINGSTON, Ont. — A man who was checking the damage on his… Continue reading

Gus is a special, collaborative art exhibit inspired by motherhood

The portrait display by mother and son is showing in Red Deer

Robotics challenge sparks student interest in Red Deer

Student-built robots compete in fun challenge

Chicken crosses B.C. road, stops traffic

Rooster makes early morning commuters wait in Maple Ridge

Red Deerian honours her brother who died in a motorcycle collision

Houaida Haddad is encouraging Red Deer residents to donate blood

Red Deer County firefighters to be recognized for Waterton help

RCMP brass will give formal recognition Monday

Ron James tries to lighten humanity’s load through humour

The comedian returns to Red Deer for shows Dec. 1 and 2

100+ Women Red Deer donate to Christmas Bureau

About $14,000 will help with Christmas hampers and toys

Semi collides with vehicle on Highway 2 north of Ponoka

Members of the Ponoka Integrated Traffic Unit dealt with a call on Highway 2 north of Ponoka

After 70 years, Red Deer veteran still remembers his traumatic war experience

Frank Krepps feels lucky to have survived the Second World War

Merritt Mountie charged with assault

Charges are in relation to an incident in May at the detachment, B.C. Prosecution Service said

Most Read

Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $185 for 260 issues (must live in delivery area to qualify) Unlimited Digital Access 99 cents for the first four weeks and then only $15 per month Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $15 a month