Pair of Queens named All-Conference

The RDC Queens placed two players onthe South Division All-Conference team

The RDC Queens, who finished first in the Alberta Colleges Women’s Volleyball League’s South Division, placed two players on the South Division All-Conference team, which was announced at the ACAC Awards Banquet in Lloydminster Wednesday.

The Queens posted a 21-3 record, winning heir final 16 games, including two over Briercrest on the final weekend, to take top spot.

Outstanding power hitter Miranda Dawe and veteran middle blocker Megan Schmidt, both of whom will return next season, were among the 10 players on the South team.

“Having two players recognized speaks to how far we have come as a team this season,” said Queens head coach Chris Wandler, who took over the Queens this year from Talbot Walton, who had to take leave because of health problems.

“I am extremely proud of how hard both of these student-athletes have worked to get their careers to this point.”

Dawe is not only one of the premier offensive players in the league, but solid defensively.

“Despite Miranda being one of the most dominant power hitters in the conference, she doesn’t get enough recognition for how good of a defender she is,” said Wandler.

Schmidt return this season after a year off and gave the Queens added experience and depth in the middle,

“Megan’s ability to play in big moments is a critical piece of what defines her as a player and has made her such an important leader on our team,” Wandler added.

The Queens open the championships today at 3 p.m. against NAIT. SAIT and Grande Prairie clash at 1 p.m., Lakeland and Briercrest at 6 p.m. and Ambrose and The Kings University Eagles at 8 p.m,.

The semifinals go Friday at 6 and 8 p.m. and the final Saturday at 7:30 p.m.

Samantha Zacharias of Briercrest was named the ACAC player of the year, while Nolan Weinmaster of Briercrest and Sam Tu’ivai of Grande Prairie were named the South and North coaches of the year.

Madison Hayley of SAIT and Jamie Bain of NAIT were the South and North rookies of the year.

Samantha and Ashley Zacharias and Karina Petersen of BBC, Megan Brenna, Simran Dhami and Veronica Headley of SAIT and Julia Kemper of Ambrose were also on the South All-Conference team.

Keri Alcorn, Sydney Warchola and Brittany Wells of Kings, Michelle Gauthier, Emily Groenenboom, Megan Koch and Jamie Struss of Grande Prairie and Alyssa Grondin and Ahnika Kuse of Lakeland were on the North team.

Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $185 for 260 issues (must live in delivery area to qualify) Unlimited Digital Access 99 cents for the first four weeks and then only $15 per month Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $15 a month