Alberta reported 464 new cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday. (Black Press stock photo)

Alberta reported 464 new cases of COVID-19 on Wednesday. (Black Press stock photo)

43,000 pediatric COVID-19 vaccine appointments booked in Alberta

Alberta announced Wednesday that nearly 43,000 children between the ages of 5-11 have been booked for pediatric doses of the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine.

Appointments opened Wednesday morning and there are close to 391,000 children in that age bracket eligible to receive the vaccine.

Overall, 88.5 per cent of Albertans 12 and over have at least one dose of the COVID-19 vaccine and 83.4 per cent are fully vaccinated.

On mapping that shows vaccination percentages, provided by the provincial government, Red Deer is divided into three regions. In Red Deer North, 74.4 per cent of the eligible population is fully vaccinated, 79.9 per cent of the eligible population in Red Deer East has received two doses and 72 per cent is fully vaccinated in Red Deer Southwest.

Meanwhile, the province reported 464 new cases of the virus Wednesday, based on 10,424 tests for a positivity rate of about 4.4 per cent. There were also four new deaths due to the implications of COVID-19 reported Wednesday, bringing the death toll to 3,231 since the start of the pandemic.

There are now 5,033 active cases in the province, with 470 people in hospital infected with the virus, including 97 in intensive care.

In the Central zone, there are 760 active cases with 104 people in hospital, including nine in the ICU.

Red Deer is at 145 active cases of COVID-19, up from 138 reported Tuesday. The city has had 9,373 total cases, with 9,147 recovered and 81 deaths.

According to geospatial mapping on the provincial government’s website, the City of Camrose sits at 65 active cases, Wetaskiwin has 52, Clearwater County has 43, Red Deer County has 42, Lacombe has 34, Mountain View County has 28 and Sylvan Lake has 20.

Camrose County has 22, the County of Stettler and Olds each have 21, Lacombe County and Drumheller each have 20, and Kneehill County has 14.

On the local geographic area setting, Wetaskiwin County, including Maskwacis has 98 active, while Rimbey, including West Ponoka County and Parts of Lacombe County has nine. Ponoka, including East Ponoka County has 12 active.