Skip to content

Central Alberta farmer named to be Alberta Wheat Commission vice-chair

Jason Lenz farms in the Bentley area
The Alberta Wheat Commission has named its new executive. Bentley-area farmer Jason Lenz will serve as vice-chair. (File photo by The Canadian Press)

Bentley area producer Jason Lenz will serve as Alberta Wheat Commission’s vice-chair this year.

Sexsmith-area farmer Greg Sears was named chair following the Alberta Wheat Commission’s (AWC) annual general meeting this week in Edmonton. Shawn Jacula, of the Vermilion is second vice-chair.

Lenz said he will be working on amalgamating Alberta Barley Commission and AWC in the coming year.

“It’s been five years in the making that producers have identified their desire to see AWC and Alberta Barley amalgamate to garner efficiencies in producers’ investments, I look forward to completing this critical work and continuing to harness my passions for policy and farmer advocacy in the coming months as vice-chair,” said Lenz in a statement on Thursday.

Last November, the Alberta Barley Commission and the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) announced the preliminary results of two plebiscites in which a majority of eligible producers voted in favour of amalgamating the commissions.

The preliminary results from each plebiscite was 89 per cent of barley farmers and 88 per cent of wheat farmers in support of forming one commission.

Sears said, “over the next few months, we look forward to building a well-thought-out platform for the new commission to launch from. As we continue to engage with Alberta Agriculture Products Marketing Council and producers on the final details related to an amalgamated organization, I am honoured to lead the organization in its remaining months as a single commission and keep Alberta farmers’ interests front and center.”

All three farmers worked together on the previous year’s executive.