County of Wetaskiwin confirms multiple candidates for upcoming municipal election

The majority of the candidates are incumbent county council members.

The County of Wetaskiwin has officially released multiple candidates that will be running for county council in the 2021 municipal election.

The majority of the candidates are incumbent county council members. The county states on its website that the election candidates page will be updated as nominations are confirmed.

The following candidates were confirmed as of Friday afternoon:

For Division 1, which covers areas of Wetaskiwin, Angus Ridge and Malmo, incumbent county councillor Bill Krahn is running.

Division 2 (areas of central Wetaskiwin and Vang), currently has two candidates, one of which is an incumbent county councillor and former County of Wetaskiwin Reeve – Terry Van De Kraats. Lynn Carwell is also running for Division 2.

Incumbent county councillors Dale Woitt, Division 3 (areas of Wetaskiwin and Lone Ridge), Ken Adair, Division 5 (Mulhurst, Falun, and Lakedell), and Lyle Seely, Division 7 (Alder Flats, Buck Lake) are all running for re-election.

No candidates have been announced for Division 4 (Porto Bello and Millet) and Division 6 (Winfield, Yeoford, and Battle Lake).

Nominations for the municipal election close at noon on Sept. 20. Nomination packages for those wishing to run in the municipal election are available at the county sdministration office.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

centralalbertared deer votesWetaskiwin