Skip to content

RDP celebrates community awards

2020 and 2021 awards handed out Friday at first in-person ceremony since pandemic began

Red Deer Polytechnic celebrated the 2020 and 2021 Community Awards in-person after a two-year pandemic-related hiatus.

“The Red Deer Polytechnic Community Awards provided a meaningful opportunity for community members, alumni and partners to gather and celebrate those who have fostered connections and collaborations for impact,” says RDP president Stuart Cullum in a statement.

“We are very grateful for the contributions from our award recipients and their multi-faceted impact toward our institution, our learners, our community and the world.

“This special occasion also marked the first time that we held the Community Awards as Red Deer Polytechnic, making it a historic event.”

The following award recipients were honoured:

• Morris Flewwelling – 2020 G.H Dawe Memorial Award of Excellence

• Ron Woodward – 2021 G.H. Dawe Memorial Award of Excellence

• Gary W. Harris – 2021 Alumni Legacy Award

• Chris Rolida – 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award

• Cory Kaun – 2021 Distinguished Alumni Award

• Central Alberta Child Advocacy Centre – 2020 Community Partner Award

• Dorothy Dixon – 2020 Honorary Degree

• Danny Rode – 2021 Honorary Degree

• Jan Underwood – 2022 Honorary Degree

News tips

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter