Red Deer Memorial Cup committee receives Mayor’s Special Award

Individuals, groups across city recognized in annual event

The annual Mayor’s Awards handed out on Thursday saw the 2016 MasterCard Memorial Cup organizing committee receive the City of Reed’s highest recognition.

The 34 members of the committee were honoured for outstanding leadership, volunteerism and contribution to the community for their work in organizing and hosting the hockey event.

They includes: co-chair Ron LaRiviere, Brett Kelly, Ivan Simon, Merrick Sutter, co-chair Nelson Lacourse, John Stewart, Brent Sutter, Doug Marchment, Mike Szyszka, Connie Sutter, Cam Moon, Jack Tremain, Nova Bais, Blair Morris, Jim White, Pam Bergen-Henegouwen, Dave Mousseau, Dean Williams, Kelly Brand, Terry Nieth, Alyson Chambers, Mike Numan, Deb Coleman, Ron Olney, Gary Creed, Phil Penner, Kaelyn Gillard, Rochelle Ramsay, Tyler Hansen, Rod Ryckman, Brent Heagy, Sherri Ryckman, Rod Hergott and Al Sim.

The Central Alberta Men’s Open Team 5 Pin Bowling Team was one of the recipients of the Athletics Award. It recognizes individuals and teams placing first in a national event or competition, or placing first, second or third in an international event or competition where the event has been sanctioned by the respective national or international governing body of the particular sport, or placing first at the highest possible level that can be achieved in the sport.

The team includes coach Greg Gigliuk,Victor Fobert. Gene Ziebarth. Gary Baird. Erik Kjos. Shelby Chrest and Karie Kreutz.

Red Deer members of Team Alberta Senior Women’s Box Lacrosse also received the award. They include Sandra Bibby, Lorae Coachman, Janelle Sullivan, Leah Boucher, Courtney Foster and Amanda Waters.

Individuals recieving the Athletics Award were Ryan Raymont and Patrick Vellner.

The Distinguished Voluntary Service, recognizes outstanding volunteers who have made a significant impact, enhanced the quality of life and/or implemented a significant positive change in Red Deer went to Dorothy Asmundson, Winifred Ledieu, Sue Barthel, AJ Mahoney, Steve Chizen, Ileen Osguthorpe, Sandra Clark, June Thompson, Lynn Iviney and Barb Young.

The Community Builder Award goes to outstanding individuals or groups who have demonstrated special or unique qualities and who have made a difference in thecommunity through leadership, innovation and creativity, with long-term benefits.

The recipients are Individuals – Kathie Chernetski and Rob Ironside, Birchmans Pereira, Serge Gingras and Paul Stearns; Butt Ugly Anti-Tobacco Program – Gail Foreman and Tanya Ryga; Stantec – Karmen Early, Todd Simenson and Shannon Van Parys; Tiny Toes Castle – Alvina Zaidi, Ambreen Zaidi and Faiza Zaidi.

Just Posted

Red Deer man says more cardiac care needed here

Ryan Gillies spent several extra days in hospital waiting to get a stent in Edmonton

Red Deer gets ready for CFR 45

A $20 to $25-million annual injection to the local economy

Former Red Deer teacher going to trial on child porn charges

Charges were laid in January 2017 after a woman came forward

Red Deer agency reports more than 1,000 lives saved with naloxone

Turning Point distributes 5,855 naloxone kits

Giddy up: Red Deer to host Canadian Finals Rodeo in 2018

The CFR is expected to bring $20-30 million annually to Red Deer and region

Red Deer city council debates cost-savings versus quality of life

Majority of councillors decide certain services are worth preserving

Got milk? Highway reopened near Millet

A southbound truck hauling milk and cartons collided with a bridge

Stettler’s newest residents overcame fear, bloodshed to come here

Daniel Kwizera, Diane Mukasine and kids now permanent residents

Giddy up: Red Deer to host Canadian Finals Rodeo in 2018

The CFR is expected to bring $20-30 million annually to Red Deer and region

Ice dancers Virtue and Moir to carry flag at Pyeongchang Olympics

Not since Kurt Browning at the 1994 Lillehammer Games has a figure… Continue reading

Beer Canada calls on feds to axe increasing beer tax as consumption trends down

OTTAWA — A trade association for Canada’s beer industry wants the federal… Continue reading

Most Read

Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $185 for 260 issues (must live in delivery area to qualify) Unlimited Digital Access 99 cents for the first four weeks and then only $15 per month Five-day delivery plus unlimited digital access for $15 a month