Candidate nominations for the upcoming municipal election closed Monday at noon. Three people are vying for Red County mayor job. (File photo by Advocate staff)

Candidate nominations for the upcoming municipal election closed Monday at noon. Three people are vying for Red County mayor job. (File photo by Advocate staff)

Three vying for Red Deer County mayor seat

Red Deer County Mayor Jim Wood will have two challengers in the upcoming municipal election.

Former councillor Stan Bell and Ty Northcott will also vie for the mayor’s job in October.

In Division 1 incumbent Philip Massier will be challenged by Chad Young.

In Division 2, incumbent Jean Bota and challenger Lonny Kennett will seek the seat and in Division 3 Adrian Pidherney will compete against incumbent Dana Depalme and Clayton Marshall. In Division 4 incumbent Connie Huelsman is unopposed and in Division 6 incumbent Christine Moore will compete against Garett Cupples.

In Division 5, Brent Ramsay will challenge incumbent Richard Lorenz.

Candidate nominations closed Monday at noon.

In Lacombe County, Division 1 incumbent John Ireland, Division 2 incumbent Brenda Knight, Division 3 incumbent Barb Shepherd and Division 7 incumbent Dana Kreil have no challengers.

In Division 4, Ivor Bernatsky and Dwayne West will compete for the seat left by Reeve Paula Law, who announced in June she would not be seeking re-election.

Division 5 will also have a new councillor after Ken Wigmore announced he would not run again. Denise Sumner, Kenneth Weenink and Ken White will campaign for the seat.

Division 6 incumbent Keith Stephenson also won’t be seeking re-election this year. Gunnar Albrecht, Philip Arthur Randall and Allan Wilson will seek the seat.

In Clearwater County, Gennifer Mehlhaff and Nichole Stewart will vie for the Division 1 seat.

In Division 2, incumbent Cammie Laird faces challenges from Sydney Graham and Dick Wymenga and in Division 3 incumbent Daryl Lougheed is challenged by Ryan Krook and Curtis Maki. Division 4 incumbent John Vandermeer faces challenges from Naomi McNair, Jordon Northcott and Timothy Plante.

In Division 5, Bob Bryant, Nicholas Frank and Neil Ratcliffe are competing for the seat last held by Theresa Laing. Incumbent Tim Hoven will compete against Bryan Cermak and Shane Nazfiger in Division 6 and in Division 7 incumbent Michelle Swanson will face off against Jo Lynn Bradshaw.

In Mountain View County, Division 1 incumbent Dwayne Fulton is challenged by Edward James Shaw, while Division 2 incumbent Greg Harris does not face any challengers. In Division 3, Marlene Aubrey, Allan Hickok, Bryce James Mickleborough and Alan Miller will compete for the seat held by Duncan Milne.

In Division 4, the seat held by former Reeve Bruce Beattie, who announced last year he would not be running for re-election, will be contested by Jim Bowhay, Gord Krebs, Sean LaBrie and Eric Rose. In Division 5, incumbent Angela Aalbers will face a challenge from Christina McCharles and in Division 6 incumbent Peggy Johnson will be challenged by Karen Berwick and Patrick A.P. Radford.

In Division 7, the seat of former reeve Al Kemmere, who announced last month he will not be running for re-election will be contested by David John Doyle, Alex Hogarth and Jennifer Lutz.

In County of Stettler, Ward 1 incumbent Les Stulberg is unchallenged. In Ward 2, incumbent Dave Grover will face challenges from Lance Neilson, Terry Schiffner and Dustan Wawzkiewicz, and in Ward 3 Reeve Larry Clarke will be challenged by Dianne Baird. Ward 4 incumbent James Nibourg will face off with Earl Marshall. Ward 5 incumbent Ernie Gendre will be faced by Sarina Gosse, Wanda Nieuhaus and Jeremey Verhoeven.

Incumbent in Ward 6 Cheri Neitz will face a challenge from Justin Stevens and in Ward 7 Paul McKay is the only one running.

In Ponoka County, incumbent Bryce Liddle is the only nominee for Ward 1 and Reeve Paul McLaughlin is the only candidate for Ward 4. In Ward 2, Mark Metejka will compete against Tammy Henkleman and Lorrie Jess. Ward 3 incumbent Doug Weir will go up against Justin Krakowka and Ward 5 incumbent Nancy Hartford will take on Bradley Bergquist and Roy Keessar.

The municipal election is on Oct. 18.

Send your news tips

Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter

Red Deer Countyred deer votesRedDeer