Alberta Sports Hall of Fame announces 2020 inductees

Olympic medallists, a former NHLer and others who made an impact in sports are among the 2020 Alberta Sports Hall of Fame inductees.

A number of athletes, builders and award winners will officially join the Hall of Fame, located in Red Deer next to Highway 2, during the induction banquet at the Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre May 29.

“We are proud to welcome these new honoured members into the hall,” said Tracey Kinsella, Hall executive director.

“Their contributions to sport in our province are incredible and humbling. They have truly earned the right to have their names added to out Hall.

The athletes joining are: former NHLer Chris Phillips, the longest serving player in Ottawa Senators history; skier Deldra Dionne, Olympic bronze-medallist in ariels; Kelly Sutherland, chuckwagon driver and 12-time Calgary Stampede winner, with seven Calgary Stampede aggregate titles; and Michael Robertson, Olympic silver-medal winning snowboardcross athlete.

The builders joining the Hall in 2020 are: Jan Ullmark (figure skating), Terry Morris (curling), Ken Babey (hockey) and Derek Douglas (soccer).

The Bell Memorial Award goes to Nancy Southern and Ian Allison, as the team who pioneered equestrian sports broadcasting in Alberta – they are the first duo to win this award.

John Currie, president of the 1983 Western Canada Summer Games, won the Achievement Award; Stan Wakelyn, captain of the 1922 Calgary Hilhurt FC, won the Pioneer Award; and Dennis Kadatz will receive the legacy award for guiding the Edmonton Huskies junior football team to three consecutive championships, before becoming the head coach of the University of Calgary’s fledging football program.

The new inductees were announced on social media Thursday afternoon.

Send your news tips

Like us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Comments are closed

Just Posted

Piece of Red Deer history up for sale

Willson House was built in 1911 and has been completely restored

Up to 60,000 Alberta beehives could perish

“A perfect storm” of obstacles is threatening thousands of Alberta beehives. “It’s… Continue reading

57 new COVID-19 cases confirmed in Alberta on Friday

Central zone remains at three active cases

Frontline rural police will benefit from new support positions say municipal representatives

Province says of 43 new RCMP officers on the job, 18 will provide support and specialized services

P.E.I. reports three new COVID-19 cases, including one seniors’ residence employee

CHARLOTETOWN, P.E.I. — Prince Edward Island reported new COVID-19 cases for the… Continue reading

Even pandemic can’t spoil July

July. Finally. It’s seems like the last three weird months have taken… Continue reading

‘You have to show up:’ NDP MP questions virtual attendance of Alberta Tories

NDP MP McPherson says she’s disappointed Tory MPs haven’t been participating in virtual meetings

Flood warning, mandatory evacuation for people in remote Alberta hamlet

A flood warning has been issued for the rain-swollen Smoky River near the Hamlet of Watino

Stop enforcing sex work laws during COVID-19, Amnesty, sex worker advocates say

‘We need to make sure the existing laws on the books aren’t enforced’

No winning ticket for Friday night’s $25 million Lotto Max jackpot

TORONTO — No winning ticket was sold for the $25 million jackpot… Continue reading

At Mount Rushmore, Trump digs deeper into nation’s divisions

MOUNT RUSHMORE NATIONAL MEMORIAL, S.D. — At the foot of Mount Rushmore… Continue reading

Most Read