Group of local hockey players invited to Alberta Winter Games

Several Central Alberta hockey players will be participating in the Alberta Winter Games in February.

Hockey Alberta announced the female zone teams on Wednesday for the games and 5 players from the area made the grade. On Nov. 29, the male rosters were announced and 14 players were named to zone teams.

On the female side, playing goalie for Zone 5 is Ridleigh Hansen of Red Deer. Hailey Hoogkamp of Lacombe will play on the Zone 7 team, Eliana Seeley of Olds is with Zone 2 and Kallie Clouston also from Olds will play for Zone 4. Jolie Nafziger of Caroline is also a forward for Zone 2.

One hundred and twenty female players born in 2003 or 2004 will make up the six teams at the games that will take place from Feb. 16-19 in Fort McMurray.

On the male side, Lacombe’s Brody Pearson will suit up for Zone 2 along with Noah Heinrich of Provost. On forward, Red Deer’s Xaiden Bignell, Hayden McIndoe and Hunter Sawka of Camrose along with Rhett Miller of Olds will all play at the tournament.

For Zone 1, Brock Lott (Red Deer) will play goalie and is joined by Quin Kapak (Red Deer), Justice Christensen (Rocky Mountain House) and Kaden Phillips on defence. Up front, Sylvan Lake’s Talon Brigley will team up with Owen Callow (Olds), William Christian (Red Deer County) and Harrison Lodewyk (Red Deer).

Email sports tips to Byron Hackett

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Just Posted

RDC Kings soccer clinch playoff spot on final day of ACAC season

Kings play Concordia University of Edmonton on Oct. 25 in ACAC Championships

Frantic final push for votes marks final day of divisive campaign

OTTAWA — The contenders in Monday’s federal election spent the last day… Continue reading

Former NHLer Clint Malarchuk shares mental health journey in Lacombe

Former goalie and current mental health advocate supports Schizophrenia Society of Alberta

Sunday Red Deer election forum on diversity, inclusion cancelled

A Red Deer election forum scheduled for Sunday afternoon has been cancelled.… Continue reading

Boy, 5, dead after being hit by truck his dad was driving at Alberta landfill

LAC LA BICHE, Alta. — Police say a five-year-old boy has died… Continue reading

WATCH: Red Deer Citizens on Patrol monitoring downtown with new program

Volunteers will patrol downtown Red Deer to help keep the city safe.… Continue reading

Your community calendar

Tuesday The Small Business Centre at Burman University’s School of Business invites… Continue reading

Ever since I was a youngster, my life has gone to the dogs

I’ve really been going to the dogs lately. “That’s for sure,” you… Continue reading

By necessity, some stories are sad

One of the comments I received was my columns have gotten away… Continue reading

RDC Kings draw, Queens soccer fall to Kodiaks

The RDC Kings moved one step closer to securing an Alberta Colleges… Continue reading

Scheer won’t say if Conservatives hired consultant to ‘destroy’ People’s party

TORONTO — With election day less than 48 hours away, Andrew Scheer… Continue reading

Man’s death in Richmond, B.C. suspicious, not random, say investigators

RICHMOND, B.C. — The discovery of a man’s body in a Richmond,… Continue reading

Quebec man found guilty of first-degree murder in slaying of ex-wife, stranger

ST-JEROME, Que. — A Quebec man was found guilty of first-degree murder… Continue reading

Most Read