Skip to content

Lacombe Generals win back-to-back Vanberg Cup titles

Back on top
The Lacombe Generals won their second straight Vanberg Cup title in Game 5 of the NCHL Senior AA Championship. (Photo by Lacombe Generals/ Facebook)

The Lacombe Generals are Vanberg Cup champions for the second year in a row.

On Saturday night they defeated the Devon Barons 4-3 in overtime in Game 5 of the North Central Senior AA Hockey League championship.

Lacombe’s Cam Maclise scored just over 10 minutes into the overtime period off a pass from Jamie Johnson to secure the victory in the seven-game series.

The Generals took the lead in the first period when Luke Coleman scored at the 15:15 mark. The Barons tied it with four minutes left in the frame while shorthanded off the stick of Austin Cunningham.

Devon continued to build on their momentum when Aaron Fedyk scored at 15:28 in the second period.

However, the Generals answered back on the powerplay with just 2:26 left in the frame. Thomas Beretta scored off a pass from Jamie Johnson on the man advantage.

In the third period, both teams traded goals before sending it to overtime. Johnson scored with just under 13 minutes left to take the lead but the Barons tied it in the final five minutes.

That set up Maclise’s overtime heroics to claim the league title once again. Goaltender Mackenzie Engel was fantastic in the net turning aside 49 shots.

Just last year, the Generals won their first Vanberg Cup title after defeating the Red Deer Rustlers in five games.

Ian Gustafson

About the Author: Ian Gustafson

Ian began his journalism career as a reporter in Prince Albert, Sask. for the last three years, and was born and raised in Saskatchewan.
Read more