Skip to content

Lyn Radford and Allan Ferchuk to be inducted into Alberta Sports Hall of Fame next year

They’re two of 11 inductees
Lyn Radford has been announced as one of 11 inductees in the class of 2023 into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame. (Photo by SEAN MCINTOSH/Advocate staff)

A pair of builders who have been essential to the growth of sports in central Alberta will soon be forever immortalized.

Allan Ferchuk and Lauralyn Radford were recently announced as two of 11 inductees into the class of the 2023 Alberta Sports Hall of Fame. They will both be inducted as multisport builders.

Ferchuk has been involved in the central Alberta sports industry for over five decades. He coached both men’s and women’s hockey and led the Red Deer Polytechnic Kings to three national championships in 1977, ‘79, and ‘80.

He has also been in many leadership roles including President of the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference and the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association and chair of Hockey Development Canada. Ferchuk also had a hand in introducing women’s soccer and hockey into college sports. He has been a dedicated volunteer and has donated his time to multiple causes including his time as director on the Board of the 2019 Canada Winter Games and Chairperson of the prime Games legacy, Central Sport.

Radford, who grew up in Red Deer, has spent a tremendous amount of time bringing sporting events to the community and has ensured the success of those events through her dedication.

Some of the large world-class events she has brought to Red Deer include the 2004 and 2012 Scotties Tournament of Hearts, the 2006 Alberta Summer Games, the 2013 inaugural Tour of Alberta Cycling race, and the 2019 Canada Winter Games.

Previously she sat on the board of Speed Skating Canada and most recently is a board member of the Canada Game’s Council.

Also being inducted into the Hall of Fame from central Alberta are the 1991-1994 Olds Grizzlys hockey team. During that time the Grizzlys, who was brought to Olds in the 1981-82 season, won their first AJHL title in their 10th season. That was the start of three championships in a row and remain one of only two teams in the league who have done so. The team was coached and managed by Bob Clark, Chris Stewart, and Cliff Murphy for all three championships.

The remaining inductees include football athlete Andrew Buckley, baseball athlete Mike Johnson, bobsleigh athlete Helen Upperton, multisport builder Cara Currie Hall, and football builder Greg Peterson. The winner of the Achievement Award will be Wilf Brooks and the Bell Memorial Award will be awarded to Mark Stephen. Finally, the Pioneer Award will be given to Dr. Marcus Dunsworth.

Ian Gustafson

About the Author: Ian Gustafson

Ian began his journalism career as a reporter in Prince Albert, Sask. for the last three years, and was born and raised in Saskatchewan.
Read more