Skip to content

Red Deer Minor Hockey announces season award winners

Hockey season comes to a close
Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs Ava Greiner moves the puck toward the net against the PCFAC Storm during the U18 AA Showcase at the Gary W. Harris Canada Games Centre. (Photo by Ian Gustafson/ Advocate staff)

Red Deer Minor Hockey has announced their 2023-24 award recipients following their year-end barbecue this week.

Each year, Red Deer Minor Hockey awards three male and three female athletes a $1,000 scholarship for post-secondary education.

Their female scholarship recipients include Ava Greiner, Payton Kletke, Sydney Grover, and Lilly Howell. All of whom play for either the U18 AA or AAA Sutter Fund Chiefs.

Meanwhile, the male scholarship winners include Rykker Jones (U18 Prairie Bus Chiefs), Mason Hammerback (U18 AA Elks), Sean Raivio (U18 AA Elks), and Austin Karton (U18 Kings Energy Chiefs).

The organizations also acknowledged their provincial champions including the U13 AA Wesco Chiefs, U13-1 Red Deer Motors Chiefs, and the U18 AA Sutter Fund Chiefs.

The U15 AA and U18 AAA Sutter Fund Chiefs also captured silver medals at provincials followed by the U15 AAA Red Deer Rebels who won bronze.

The Alberta Elite Hockey League also announced their award winners. Captain of the Red Deer Rebels Crew Martinson was named to the U15 AAA second all-star team.

Meanwhile, Red Deer Optimist Chiefs forward Cooper Moore took home the Most Sportsmanlike Award recipient at the U18 AAA level. He was also named to the U18 AAA first all-star team.

In the Alberta Female Hockey League, U15 AA Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs Don Morrison won the coach of the year award.

At the U18 AAA level, the Sutter Fund Chiefs had multiple awards winners. Forward Chloe Goofers won MVP, Lyvia Butz was named the league’s top forward, and Taya Christie won the top goaltender award.

Ian Gustafson

About the Author: Ian Gustafson

Ian began his journalism career as a reporter in Prince Albert, Sask. for the last three years, and was born and raised in Saskatchewan.
Read more