Stabilizing taxes

Stabilizing taxes

Didrikson making city affairs his new business

Stabilizing taxes, taking care of seniors and the homeless are key to Garry Didrikson’s platform.

Stabilizing taxes, taking care of seniors and the homeless are key to Garry Didrikson’s platform.

The 66-year-old Red Deer city council candidate says he is slowing down from his business that he has run for 40 years in Red Deer.

And now it’s time to give back to the community.

Didrikson said he has the work ethic, education, positive attitude and experience to be a good councillor.

Didrikson, who is a businessman but also a natural health practitioner, chiropractor and acupuncturist, said as a councillor he would be visible and approachable in the community.

The self-described “self-made” man said his doors would always be open to the public.

On Didrikson’s to-do list are stabilizing taxes to keep businesses in Red Deer and improving safety for everyone in the community.

Didrikson said the city should be doing its part and working with the province to keep the elderly safe and secure in their homes.

Ensuring youth and children in the community are looked after through provincial programs is also a concern.

“We have to have a social conscience,” said Didrikson.

“The way we do that is to talk to these people and get them involved.”

Didrikson has lived in Red Deer for more than five decades. His wife, Jo-Anne, is a nurse at the Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre.

Didrikson is a director on the Central Alberta Co-op board and a member of the Bowden Penitentiary’s citizens’ advisory council.

He has volunteered on several city planning groups and sports organizations over the years. He was as an engineering technician and worked in Edmonton and Calgary.

Other council hopefuls are Jerry Anderson, Terry Balgobin, Bettylyn Baker, Bob Bevins, Buck Buchanan (incumbent), Matt Chapin, Stephen Coop, Serge Gingras, Calvin Goulet-Jones, Tanya Handley, Paul Harris (incumbent), David Helm, Lloyd Johnson, Ken Johnston, Tim Lasiuta, Lawrence Lee, Dan McKenna, Victor Mobley, Dennis Moffat, Dawna Morey, Lynne Mulder (incumbent), Ben Ordman, Janella Spearing, Troy Wavrecan, Jonathan Wieler, Frank Wong (incumbent), Dianne Wyntjes (incumbent), Darren Young and Calvin Yzerman.

The five-way mayoral race includes Councillors Cindy Jefferies and Tara Veer and newcomers William Horn, Chad Mason and Dennis Trepanier.