Skip to content

Red Deer’s Avery Lajeunesse named ACAC Women’s Hockey Rookie of the Year

A pair of Queens also receive all-star selections

With the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference Women’s Hockey Championships kicking off Thursday, the league handed out their annual awards ahead of puck drop between the NAIT Ooks and MacEwan University Griffins.

The big winner for the RDC Queens was first-year forward Avery Lajeunesse. The Red Deer product had an outstanding freshman campaign on her way to winning the ACAC Women’s Hockey Rookie of the Year award.

In 23 games, the rookie produced eight goals and seven assists for 15 points, good for second on the team and 11th in the league. She was sixth across the league in goal-scoring, including one game-winner. Lajeunesse was also strong on special teams, picking up a pair of power play goals and two shorthanded markers as well.

Second-year blueliner Ashley Sutherland was also honoured, as she was named to the ACAC first all-conference team. Sutherland was an offensive catalyst for RDC, producing a team-leading 18 points, first among defenceman and fifth league-wide.

The Airdrie product was an alternate captain for the Queens and also produced four points in three playoff games against the NAIT Ooks.

Queens forward Camryn Wallan was celebrated as well, earning a selection to the ACAC second all-conference team.

The Beaverlodge native posted five goals, nine assists and 14 points on the year and ranked third on the team and 13th in the ACAC. The third-year struck twice on the power play and recorded three game-winning goals.

The Queens season concluded Sunday with a loss to the Ooks in the ACAC Women’s Hockey best-of-three semifinal.

Email sports tips to Byron Hackett

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Byron Hackett

About the Author: Byron Hackett

I have been apart of the Red Deer Advocate Black Press Media team since 2017, starting as a sports reporter.
Read more